Southern Road Trip – Part Three (Sweet Savannah)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since we weren’t able to kayak in Jacksonville on Monday we decided to head towards Savannah a few hours ahead of schedule.

On the way we stopped at Jekyll Island – former summer playground of the rich and famous, think the Rockefellers, Marshall Field, J.P. Morgan and the Vanderbilts.  The main attraction on the island is the Jekyll Island Club Hotel.  The massive luxury hotel is still operating and we enjoyed a nice lunch there before exploring the grounds.  The grounds are home to the former “cottages” (winter mansions) of club members.  They were impressive to say the least.

After a loving afternoon at Jekyll Island we arrived in Savannah just in time for a nap.  Once we were all refreshed we went to dinner at Local 10 Eleven – a modern restaurant that uses local ingredients, delicious – then headed down to explore River St. which is lined with bars, shops and restaurants.

The next day we visited Forsyth Park, Bonaventure Cemetery, had lunch at Five Guys Burgers and Fries (so tasty!) and then spent our afternoon at the beach on Tybee Island.  That night, we decided to take a ghost tour of Savannah after dinner at Rock on the River.  Dinner was good but the best part of the night came after ordering drinks at a local bar.  We decided to have a beer before taking a Ghost Tour.  When the time came to leave for the tour, I still had quite a bit of beer left which was a bummer – until the waitress asked me if I wanted a to-go cup.  I said “Why yes, I sure do.”, and carried my beer down the street with me.  Apparently Savannah is one of 4-5 cities in the country that allows its citizens and visitors to take their beverages to the street.  It was a fun, unexpected bonus to our tour.  The tour was a great way to see some of the notable sites in the historic district of Savannah, although I was disappointed that I did not see any ghosts.

Our final day in Savannah was spent exploring town a bit more and visiting the shopping district on Broughton Street.  Overall, I loved Savannah.  I was totally charmed by the feel of the city.  The willow trees covered with Spanish moss lined streets that still gave off an air of history.  Everything has been kept up so well that it was easy to imagine what Savannah was like 100 years ago.  The B&B we stayed at the final night, Savannah Bed & Breakfast was the most hospitable place I’ve ever stayed and we left town hoping to come back again very soon.

Some of my favorite Savannah shops:

The Savannah Bee Company

The Paris Market

shop SCAD (Savannah College of Art and Design’s Shop)

One Comment to “Southern Road Trip – Part Three (Sweet Savannah)”

  1. I just came across your blog… and i LOVE IT! So fun to read about your savannah trip. My boyfriend and I are looking to go there in the beginning of August! I take it you recommend the B&B you stayed in?? Is it close to the center city?

Leave a comment